2021 Youth Tour Finalists Announced

People’s Electric Cooperative (PEC) announced the top ten finalists in the co-op’s 2021 Youth Tour Scholarship contest. Beginning in January, details were announced to all area high school juniors. The participating schools included Ada, Allen, Byng, Coalgate, Holdenville, Mill Creek, Moss, Roff, Stratford, Stuart, Sulphur, Tishomingo, Tupelo, and Vanoss. This year, 85 students were administered a written exam throughout the month of February.

The local finalists are:

  • Jacob Beavert, Allen
  • Kaylee DeAngelis, Byng
  • Presley Driskill, Byng
  • Sarah Hall, Coalgate
  • Taylor Pearce, Epic
  • Destiny Raines, Vanoss
  • Brynn Savage, Stratford
  • Brody Wallis, Allen
  • Anthony White, Ada
  • Jackson Ty Wilson, Byng.

These top ten finalists will compete for three $2,000 scholarships.

A panel of outside judges will conduct virtual interviews with the finalists on March 10 and award the three winning delegates their $2,000 scholarships based on the students’ poise, originality, appearance, and personality.

“PEC is excited at this year’s level of participation in our Youth Tour program,” said PEC Executive Vice President and CEO Kevin Wood. “This is an impressive group of students and I have no doubt that any of them are deserving of these scholarships. The judges have a tough job ahead of them.”

“PEC’s Youth Tour contest is open to 11th-grade students enrolled in school (or homeschool) systems located in one of the 11 counties served by PEC. For more information about PEC’s Youth Tour program or other programs available at People’s Electric Cooperative, please contact Jennifer Boeck at (580) 332-3031.